History of the Flatiron Building

Something about the Flatiron Building makes you stop and stare. Considered a quintessential symbol of New York City, the skyscraper was originally called the Fuller Building. It was eventually renamed because of its unique resemblance to a clothing iron.

The Flatiron was designed by Chicago architect Daniel Burnham. Its steel frame was somewhat of an oddity at the time. An old photo shows three phases of its construction. The building's facade is limestone at the bottom changing to glazed terra-cotta at the top.

Upon completion in 1902, at 20 stories high, it was one of the tallest buildings in New York City. The top floor, called the annex, was added in 1905, the most coveted offices are "the point offices" at the front of the building. They look out onto another iconic skyscraper, the Empire State Building.

But believe it or not, the Flatiron originally got mixed reviews. The New York Times called it a "monstrosity."

The Flatiron always draws a crowd. There is never a shortage of people near by taking photos. Tour buses pass by slowly allowing tourists to take a shot.

Over the years the building has been bought and sold several times. In 1946 it was purchased by an investor group owned by Harry Helmsley. In 2005 it was sold to an Italian real estate firm that wants to turn it into a luxury hotel.

The building still houses several publishing companies, like the Macmillan Group. The Flatiron is so amazing that Lego put it in its architecture series.

The Flatiron Building from every angle is pure perfection.