Ghost guns, machine gun, bombs among illegal arsenal, police say

Police charged a Connecticut man with firearms trafficking, selling assault weapons, possession of a machine gun, and selling large-capacity magazines. after finding an arsenal inside his home and cars. The governor called the discovery "shocking."

About 85% of Connecticut schools dropping mask rule

About 85% of school districts across Connecticut have elected to drop mandatory face mask wearing as of Monday, Gov. Ned Lamont said. Hartford, New Haven and Waterbury are keeping the mandate in place for now.

Task force to combat organized retail crime in Connecticut

Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont and Attorney General William Tong have announced the formation of a task force charged with combating the growing problem of organized robberies at brick-and-mortar retailers. The national issue involves smash-and-grab thefts in which large quantities of relatively inexpensive goods are stolen and then resold online.

New York, New Jersey, Connecticut agree on federal transit aid sharing

After months of negotiations, New York and its two neighboring states have finally agreed on how to divide up billions in federal COVID-19 relief money aimed at public transit. New York will receive about $10.8 billion, New Jersey will get about $2.6 billion and Connecticut will receive about $474 million.

Conn. state workers vaccine mandate deadline passes

Connecticut officials say 671 state employees or 2.2% of executive branch workers remain noncompliant with Gov. Ned Lamont's vaccination and testing mandate. Some of those workers could be placed on unpaid leave as soon as Friday.

Connecticut Gov. Lamont signs recreational marijuana into law

Connecticut on Tuesday became the 19th state to legalize the recreational use of marijuana, which remains an illegal drug under federal law. People age 21 and older will be allowed to possess and consume marijuana beginning on July 1.

Connecticut poised to legalize recreational marijuana use

The legislation makes it legal for you to possess and use cannabis beginning July 1 if you are 21 or older. You'll be allowed to have up to 1½ ounces on your person and another 5 ounces in your home or vehicle. Retail sales of cannabis in the state are not expected to begin until spring 2022 at the earliest.