Closures at 9 Brooklyn subway stations

The Manhattan-bound platforms of nine N-line stations will be closed for more than a year starting Monday.  The MTA says the work is necessary for long over-due, major renovations.

The effected stations run from 8th Avenue in Sunset Park to 86th Street in Bensonhurst.

The 8th Avenue station will receive wheelchair-accessible ramps, and 2 pairs of elevators will be installed at the New Utrecht Avenue station.

Other improvements include new platforms and overpasses, stairways and handrails, and communication systems.

Riders are advised to take the train in the wrong direction at the platform that is open. Riders will go toward Coney Island then transfer at Bay Parkway or Stillwell to a Manhattan-bound train.

Once t he Manhattan-bound side is complete, renovations will start on the Coney Island-bound platforms.

For travel alternatives and other information, visit

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in - includes Advertiser Stories