That Facebook content privacy post is a hoax

(Spencer E Holtaway/Flickr)
(Spencer E Holtaway/Flickr)

- You’ve perhaps seen the following Facebook post circulating on your newsfeed claiming to be a legally-binding message to protect photos and other content from copyright infringement. It isn't true and it does nothing to protect you.

“As of (date), I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement atleast once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates.”

The status seems to promise a user’s account, including shared photos and videos, will be protected and private, but posting the message on your wall does nothing.

Per Facebook’s terms, you own all content and information you post on Facebook, but you also give Facebook permission to use content that is posted publicly.

“For content that is covered by intellectual property rights, like photos and videos (IP content), you specifically give us the following permission, subject to your privacy and application settings: you grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (IP License). This IP License ends when you delete your IP content or your account unless your content has been shared with others, and they have not deleted it.”

The IP license does end when you delete your IP content or your account, Facebook said, similar to emptying the trash bin on your computer.

Read the rest of Facebook’s terms here:

 App Store Get it on Google Play

  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in - includes Advertiser Stories